NB8 parliament speakers to discuss situation in Ukraine

Lithuanian Parliament Speaker Loreta Graužinienė
DELFI / Kiril Čachovskij

The meeting will be also attended by Chairman of Ukraine‘s Verkhovna Rada Oleksandr Turchynov. He will take part in a discussion on the Eastern Partnership dimension and the upcoming Eastern Partnership summit in Latvia next year.

Lithuania is expected to be visited by delegations led by Mogens Lykketoft, speaker of the Folketing, Denmark; Eiki Nestor, president of the Riigikogu, Estonia; Einar Kristinn Gudfinnsson, speaker of Althingi, Iceland; Solvita Aboltina, speaker of the Saeima, Latvia; Olemic Thommessen, president of the Storting, Norway; Eero Heinaluoma, speaker of the Eduskunta, Finland; and Per Westerberg, speaker of the Riksdag, Sweden.

The speakers of the NB8 parliaments will exchange views on matters important for the region. Special focus will be given to the Eastern Partnership prospects after the 2013 Eastern Partnership Summit in Vilnius while looking forward to the next summit to be held during the Latvian Presidency of the Council of the European Union (in the second half of 2015).

The politicians will also discuss the latest security challenges to the region in the context of the events in Ukraine, the EU fiscal and monetary union, and matters pertaining to the Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region and the Arctic Strategy. Effective implementation of the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region and strengthened regional cooperation were among the top priorities within the program of the Lithuanian Presidency of the Council of the EU.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.