No need for Schengen restrictions following Paris attacks, Lithuanian representative says

“Theoretically, there are chances of control measures in specific situations but they should be proportionate. In this case, joint measures would not be better than an attempt to introduce control on national borders,” the ambassador told BNS in Vilnius.

In his words, temporary border restrictions have previously been introduced for large events, for example, football championships.

“Now we are not speaking about large-scale movements but about individual movements when individual terrorists are moving,” Karoblis said.

Spain’s interior minister called for tighter controls of borders on Sunday. But that would need changing the 1995 treaty that forbids systematic national border checks.

The Schengen Area now comprises 22 EU member states as well as Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein. Lithuania joined the area in late 2007.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.