Juncker pledges focus on Baltic states celebrating 100-yr independence anniversaries

The European Commission's President Jean-Claude Juncker at the annual address to the European Union
AP / Scanpix

“I will personally pay particular attention to Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Romania in 2018. This is the year they will celebrate their 100th anniversary,” the EC president said at the European Parliament in Strasbourg on Wednesday.

Next year, Lithuania will celebrate 100 years of its restored independence, while Latvia and Estonia will mark their established independence anniversaries.

“Europe would not be whole without them,” Juncker said.

“Those who want to shape the future of our continent should well understand and honor our common history. This includes these four countries,” he added .

On Feb. 16 of 1918, the Council of Lithuania in Vilnius proclaimed “the restoration of the independent state of Lithuania, founded on democratic principles, with Vilnius as its capital,” and declared “the termination of all state ties which formerly bound this State to other nations.”

Poland also celebrates 100 years of restored independence next year, however, the European Commission’s president did not mention it in his speech.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.