Lithuania abstains in Palestine’s statehood vote at UN Security Council

Flag of Palestine

Eight nations voted in favour of the draft resolution suggested by Jordan, that is, one vote short for the document to be adopted: Jordan, China, Russia, France, Argentine, Luxembourg, Chad and Chile. The USA and Australia voted against the adoption of resolutions. Five remaining countries – Lithuania, the United Kingdom, Nigeria, South Korea and Rwanda – abstained.

The document called for an end of Israeli troops in Palestinian territories, including the West Bank, by 2017 and set a 12-month deadline for a peace solution, with two separate states. The resolution also named East Jerusalem as the capital of Palestine.

“I doubt whether the unilaterally-proposed text of the resolution, which has not been harmonized or balanced, could promote the reconciliation process under the current circumstances or bring the two countries closer to a solution,” Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevičius said in a press release circulated by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Wednesday.

In his words, Lithuania has always been strongly in support of a solution, which would envisage a peaceful and safe coexistence of Israel and Palestine.

According to the press release, resumption of direct negotiations is the only way of settling the conflict.

“The text of the resolution includes a number of good elements, which can serve as strong grounds for further negotiations. Nevertheless, the conflict can only be settled by way of direct talks involving both sides,” said Nida Jakubonė, acting chargé d’affaires at the Lithuanian Permanent Mission to the UN.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.