Lithuanian defence policy director: We have created a security club

Vaidotas Urbelis
DELFI / Karolina Pansevič

According to Mr. Urbelis, the initiative by seven countries – Estonia, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway and the United Kingdom – is informed by their cooperation in Afganistan where they gained a lot of experience working together.

The rapid response division of around 30,000 soldiers could quickly respond to crises within and beyond NATO borders, Mr. Urbelis has noted, adding that the force could be deployed to crisis spots within five days.


Vaidotas Urbelis said: “It has to be noted that these are not NATO or EU forces. These are forces of those seven countries which are making their own decisions on where to go and what to do, how to react. No other organisation has the right to order these countries what to do.”

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.