NATO units set for Lithuania and five other eastern member states

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said Friday the units in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Bulgaria and Romania will be the first of their kind there.

Defence ministers from the 28-nation military alliance will discuss the full force, which can react quickly to any hotspots in Europe, when they meet on 5 February.

Stoltenberg said countries responsible for providing the several thousand troops should be known next week. Norway, Germany and the Netherlands are ready to contribute.

The forward units will comprise a few dozen troops only. They will plan and organize military exercises, and provide command and control for any reinforcements the force might require.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.