10 Lithuanian MPs elected to local councils to stay in Seimas

In the Seimas
DELFI / Tomas Vinickas

Elected to Klaipėda Council, Agne Bilotaitė, a member of the conservative Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats, and Naglis Puteikis of the Lithuanian List party have confirmed to BNS their plans to renounce their local seats.

Elected to Kaunas Council, Social Democratic MP Orinta Leiputė has also told the Kaunas Diena daily that she would stay in the Seimas.

The lawmakers who earlier renounced their local seats include Irina Rozona (the Russian Alliance), Eugenijus Gentvilas ir Šarunas Gustainis (the Liberal Movement), Jolita Vaickienė, Kęstutis Bartkevicius, Remigijus Žemaitaitis, Petras Gražulis (the Order and Justice party) and Raimundas Markauskas (Labour Party).

All in all, 12 members of the Seimas were elected to local council in the March 1 elections. Liberal Movement MPs Algis Kašėta and Remigijus Šimašius decided to leave the parliament after being elected mayors of Varėna District and Vilnius respectively.

In Lithuania, a person cannot at the same time be a municipal councillor and a member of the Seimas, the European Parliament or head of a municipal or any other company.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.