Early voting in mayoral run-offs begins on Wednesday

DELFI / Tomas Vinickas

Advance voting will take place on 11 March and 12 March, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

All voters from municipalities which on 1 March did not elect their mayor straight away in the first round can take part in the advance voting if they cannot come to the polling stations on 15 March – the run-off election day.

Mayors will be elected from the two top supported candidates in the first round in 40 municipalities. Mayors of 19 municipalities became clear on 1 March.

Due to gross violations recorded in the first round of municipal elections in Trakai District, the Central Electoral Commission (VRK) declared the results invalid and decided that a rerun election in Trakai District will take place on 7 June 2015.

On 15 March, Žirmūnai constituency in Vilnius will also elect a replacement for Vytenis Povilas Andriukaitis who left his MP seat at the Seimas for a European Commissioner’s post in 2014.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.