Lithuanian MPs form 6 political groups

In the new Seimas
DELFI / Andrius Ufartas

The Lithuanian Peasant and Green Union (LPGU) has the largest political group of 59 members, with Ramunas Karbauskis, the party’s chairman, as its head.

The second-biggest political group is that of the conservative Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats. The 31-member group is led by Gabrielius Landsbergis, the party’s chairman.

The Lithuanian Social Democratic Party (LSDP), the Peasants and Greens’ coalition partner, has 19 members. Irena Šiaulienė, who led the group in the previous Seimas, on Monday was re-elected to this position.

Eugenijus Gentvilas continues to lead the 14-strong political group of the opposition Liberal Movement.

Rita Tamasuniene will head the political group of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Union of Christian Families and Remigijus Žemaitaitis will lead the Order and Justice political group. Each group has eight members.

The mixed group has two members.

You may like

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.